Email Access/ATS Print this Page

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act) prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental and financing of dwellings based on race, color, religion, sex or national origin. Title VIII was amended in 1988 (effective March 12, 1989) by the Fair Housing Amendments Act, which:
  • expanded the coverage of the Fair Housing Act to prohibit discrimination based on disability or on familial status (presence of child under the age of 18, and pregnant women);

  • established new administrative enforcement mechanisms with HUD (Department of Housing and Urban Development) attorneys bringing actions before administrative law judges on behalf of victims of housing discrimination; and

  • revised and expanded Justice Department jurisdiction to bring suit on behalf of victims in Federal district courts.

Learn more. (

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Fair Housing Amendments Act (FHAA)
U.S. Department of Transportation
U.S. Department of Education
Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (Section 404)
Follow us on our Social Networks!